Black forest brownie stack

_MG_4744

I’ve been waiting for what seems to be like forever for cherries to be in season… and guess what, they’re here!

One of my favorite websites for recipes and health tips is Mindbodygreen.com. If you haven’t heard of them before I strongly suggest you check them out! A few weeks ago I came across a recipe for fig & coconut brownies and it’s taken me up until now to try it. Now let me tell you it seems easy to make, that is, if you have a proper food processor. High speed blender-is a no, a.k.a vitamix. Stick with a food processor its less of a hassle. I processed my dates, figs and coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut shreds and applesauce and just stired in the dry ingredients in after. I substitued the 1/4 cup of coconut sugar for 1/4 cup of date sugar and had ground almonds already. I also cooked it for much longer than the recipe called for because it did not look cooked well enough after 25 minutes (the top burnt a little but my dad will still eat it).

7/10 for ease of preparation and baking.

So here’s the link to the recipe!

A decadent stack of brownies that I layered with black cherry jam and coconut cream icing and topped off with a fresh black cherry and enjoy life chocolate chip shavings.

_MG_4746 ~Lexa

3 comments

  1. Arielle · August 23, 2015

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more ❤

    Like

    • LexaCakes · August 23, 2015

      Oh my goodness your blog looks beautiful! Of course I’ll check it out 🙂

      Like

      • Arielle · August 23, 2015

        Thank you, you are so sweet! I hope you will like it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

