The fungi and the squash

Have you ever purchased something at a grocery store before knowing what you want to do with it? That is my struggle every time because I lack the good sense of writing out a grocery list to follow.To be frank I’ve never cooked acorn squash and since it’s not in season I should not have purchased it. For about 2 weeks now I’ve had an acorn squash on the counter and I wondered what to with it. Until I found this recipe that is absolutely wonderful:

Makes a fair amount that would probably be best for a large family or you can use one half in the recipe and eat the rest of the squash as you would with sweet potato or roast it like I did below.

This recipe deserves an 8/10 because it is very easy to make and will last you many lunches and dinners. Meal prep = check. A suggestion from a non vegan or vegetarian source is that this would be amazing with chicken and rice, try it out and let me know!

Vegan “alfredo” sauce:

  • 1 medium acorn squash
  • 1 handful of fresh parsley (I had curly parsley) and a handful of fresh basil
  • 3/4 cup of non dairy milk, I used rice milk
  • 2/3 cup of nutritional yeast flakes – you can find this at your local health food store
  • 2 Tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp of Dijon mustard ( but if you don’t like a strong Dijon flavor I would say to use 1 tbsp)
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp roasted garlic
  • 2 Tbsp dried Italian herbs (basil, oregano, thyme)
  • 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes or dash of cayenne
    salt and pepper to taste

fungi side :

  • 1 package of cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp of avocado oil
  • 2 shallots
  • 1 medium onion
  • parsley

For the pasta I used a tri color brown rice pasta … I suggest paying close attention when cooking this since its easy to overcook it. My pasta looked a little more like risotto when I was done.
acorn1_1Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Slice the squash in half like shown above and remove the seeds.

*If you would like, use one half and slice it into several disks place in a dish with a bit of avocado oil and date/coconut sugar as well as salt and pepper. Roast for 45-50 minutes rotating them halfway once to roast them evenly.

In a casserole dish with an inch of water, place your halved squash flesh side down and roast for 60 minutes or until the skin can be easily peeled away.

Place the milk and the cooked squash in a high-speed blender followed by the remaining ingredients until the parsley and basil and finely chopped.

acorn2

These caramelized onions and mushrooms go perfect with the pasta. However since my sister does not like either I did not add it directly into the sauce and pasta mixture.acorn3

Over medium heat, caramelize onion and shallots with about a Tbsp of Avocado oil. Add the mushrooms and cook for 4-5 minutes. Optional: add parsley.acorn3_1

The sauce serves about a gazillion people. A wonderful recipe to share with friends or if you’re nice enough to bring it to a potluck lunch or dinner instead of the boring old potato/pasta salad.

**non food related … I went to see Ed sheeran and it was absolutely beautiful. Here’s one of my favorite songs of his that I listen to when cooking :  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSDgHBxUbVQ

Have a lovely day,

~ Lexa

Leave a Reply

