Chickpea salad from the Sea

I’m back! I’ve been a little busy lately with music festivals and outdoor adventures, but hey at least I am making an appearance. My parents got me a trial for an online cooking class called Rouxbe for christmas… And I finally started it yesterday. If you want to start cooking and want learn basic kitchen essentials I strongly suggest it ! There are even little tutorials that you can do and tips for you to practice as well as recipes you can make.

I’m really bad at sticking to things but now that I have a little more time I will make it a challenge to complete at least one module everyday. I know, another challenge… Wish me luck?

Below is a recipe of a Tuna-Less Tuna salad Rouxbe has on their website :

* I used Kelp and dulse instead of nori and it still gave it a salty ocean taste that the original recipe would have. I’ve been totally obsessed with those Seaweeds and guess what, they have amazing benefits ! Did you know that they have 10X more calcium than in cow’s milk and more iron than in red meat.. and are balanced in minerals and trace elements …. plus you can use it instead of salt or just eat it out from the bag… A pictorial form of Seaweed’s popularity by me.

seaweedbuffet

P.s Brendan Brazier, the ever so amazing author of the Thrive energy cookbook and the Thrive Diet, is my favorite plant- based athlete. Highly recommend both books !

Now for the recipe!

Quick & easy, no cooking required.

Tuna-Less salad , recipe inspired by Dawn T from Rouxbe

  • 3 cups cooked chickpeas (1-28oz can), or you may cook your own chickpeas
  • 2 to 3 tbsp red onion or yellow onion, (or to taste)
  • 2 to 3 celery stalks (approx. 1/2 cup)
  • 2 to 3 pickles (approx. 1/4 cup)
  • 2 tbsp nori seaweed flakes* /dulse/kelp
  • 1 tsp sea salt (dont really need because of Seaweed)
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise (I use the Earth Island brand that comes in either Organic /Soy-free/ Original /made with grapeseed oil/ reduced fat .)

chickpeasalad

1.Drain the chickpeas and mash to break them up.

2. In a large bowl mix the diced vegetables and the chickpeas.

3.Add the vegan mayo and combine. Sprinkle with pepper, Seaweed (flakes or ground) and salt if its not salty enough or until desired flavor.

4. Serve with Romaine lettuce leaves, tomato, pita bread or rye sandwich bread!

chickpeasalad

Here’s a song I really like right now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eSYM3Z9B8Us

~Enjoy and have a lovely day! ~

Leave a Reply

