Salted caramel chocolate cupcakes

Hey everyone ! I’m behind on my posts and I’m a little ashamed that I haven’t posted an actual cake since I started my blog. It being “Lexacakes” it’s a little crazy don’t you think? It’s my birthday today and I would like to share this scrumptious cupcake recipe that I love. And just looking at the icing gives you diabetes. The “cookies” I have on them are a failed attempt at making vegan French Macarons. I expect to try it again but for now it’s a marzipan sugar cookie topping !


 Mocha almond fudge cake recipe adapted from Chloe Coscarelli ( Chloe’s Kitchen cookbook) :

Cupcake ingredients:

  • 3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups of cold coffee
  • 3/4 cups of apple sauce *
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract

*the original recipe called for canola oil but I decided to use apple sauce. I had a cinnamon apple flavour –unsweetened Apple sauce.

Chloe’s recipe can be altered to suit gluten-free diets as well. I have used cup for cup of coconut sugar or date sugar as well which are unrefined and are loaded with nutrients.

Preheat oven to 350•. In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl whisk all wet ingredients. Slowly add the wet ingredients in the large bowl with a whisk until well combined. Making sure you don’t overmix. Pour into muffin tins (will make 24 cupcakes) or greased pan if making a cake. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the toothpick comes out clean. Let cool before frosting the cakes!

Frosting ingredients :

For the salted caramel

  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 2Tbsp vegan butter spread (I use Earth Balance Soy-Free)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or other)
  • 1/8 tsp salt

For the salted caramel frosting

  • 2 Tbsp vegan butter spread
  • 3 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup of salted caramel mixture

Make the salted caramel by heating  the sugar, spread and milk alternative in a small saucepan. Over medium heat. Whisking constantly, let simmer for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and add salt. Let cool stirring occasionally. To speed up the cooling, I placed the caramel in a glass bowl over an ice bath.

Put 1/3 cup aside for frosting and use the rest as a final topping.

To make the frosting, in a stand mixer with whisk attachment, beat the spread until creamy. Slowly add powdered sugar about 1/2 cup at a time, alternating with the cooled caramel sauce. Adjust the powdered sugar to caramel ratio accordingly if the frosting becomes too soft. If you have more time I suggest to place the icing in the fridge for about 30 minutes before frosting the cupcakes.


 You’re now ready to frost the cooled cupcakes. Place frosting in piping bag with a star tip. Top it off with a drizzle of salted caramel!


Side note and unrelated to baking, I tried my luck at making homemade silk screened shirts for a concert I’m going to in September. The kit is from speedball and contains everything except for transparency sheets, t-shirts and foam brush. It was a long process from drawing out my design to preparing the photo emulsion on the screen and developing the image. All in all, I’m extremely happy with this product and will definitely be doing more. I’ll be trying it out again and will possibly order already made photo emulsion sheets. Give it a try if you want to do something for a team, family or bulk shirts because you’ll feel a little sad and empty if you need to wash the screen off. Here’s a     few pictures of how it turned out !

  •screen after photo emulsion, development and rinsing of emulsion, ready for the ink!•
    •my original drawing•

•finished shirts•

It’s never to late to try new things ~ here’s a song from the band kodaline ! : http://youtu.be/VtNrCE_RNp0

Thanks for reading  ❤

~Lexa

3 comments

  1. thelariikin · August 23, 2015

    Yum!!! Definitely going to be attempting these in my kitchen!

    Like

  2. Arielle · August 23, 2015

    Oh wow they look so delicious! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

