Coconut nanaimo cupcakes

Guys, it’s 2016! I’m not making a year in review or resolutions post because as you can see I’ve delayed most of my work already. I didn’t complete the 12 days of holiday baking I started and I’m ashamed of admitting so.

I have to face the facts and come to a consensus : In 2016 I will complete every project I start ! Starting with baking things… you’ll see a minimum of one post a week from me.

I’ve had many requests from my friends to make a nanaimo cupcake recipe. Now the one that was sent to me sounded too sweet so I decided to make one myself. This is a Gluten-free, vegan cupcake recipe with a layer of coconut, a layer of “custard” ( which is basically just a vanilla cake) and finished off with a chocolate ganache. I brought these into work and they were a hit!

I’ve started a Facebook page called Lexacakes for my baking where I’ll post recipes and hopefully someday someone will want to order something. Check it out, Like it and share it…just so I know some of you read this… These acts of kindness go a long way and maybe some day you’ll pop into my bakery and say : “Alexa I need 6 dozens of your sugar cookies ASAP.” Or maybe I’ll be the one leaving sweet treats at your doorstep (depending on where you are in the world). I am the food fairy after all…

So here it goes:

Nanaimo cupcake:

Cupcake layer

  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk (full fat)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 2 tbsp of whole psyllium husk (purchased at bulk food store because I don’t use it often)
  • 3/4 cup of maple sugar or coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup of virgin coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of Sweet Sorghum flour
  • 5 tbsp of coconut flour
  • 4 tsp of potato starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp fine sea salt
  • 4 tbsp of cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup of finely shredded coconut

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1/3  cup of maple syrup

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven at 350º. This recipe made 10 medium cupcakes. In a large bowl whisk the coconut milk, water, psyllium, sugar, coconut oil and vanilla extract. Let the mixture stand for 5 minutes to allow the fibre to absorb the water.
  2. In a large bowl mix the flours, starch, baking powder and salt.
  3. Add the psyllium mixture to the dry mixture until well combined.
  4. At this point you will have to divide the mixture into two. Add the coconut and cocoa to one of the two and mix until well combined.
  5. The chocolate coconut layer is the base layer and the white “custard” is the second. Divide them equally among the baking tins.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the cupcakes cool slightly before adding the ganache layer.

For the ganache: heat the coconut oil in a small saucepan until it is melted. remove from heat and add the remaining ingredients. Let the mixture cool until it thickens. If it does not, you can always make an ice bath and slowly thicken the mixture. Place in a syrup bottle and use it to pour the ganache freely on the cupcakes.

Enjoy!

 

As always here is a little piece of heaven to go with this little piece of heaven.. West by Sleeping At Last ( A very suitable song for the most western point I have been in Canada) . And another called Manufactured love by Michael Blume 

Thank you for all your support,

~Lexa

Leave a Reply

