Vegan Cheezecake

Valentine’s day is approaching and I have tricks up my sleeve. If any of you are in the market for handmade personalized treats that are catered for most intolerances , I’m your girl. You have two weeks left to send me a message and I will do my best to accommodate your requests. I do however use tree nuts often and cannot make something absolutely nut free.

Cheesecake has and always will be my favourite dessert. For many it is enjoyable for the first few minutes and then it is not, if you know what i’m saying. I’ve worked around with a few combinations and I think I found the right balance. My all time favourite recipes are in the Oh She Glows cookbook and I’ve made her Raw pumpkin-Maple pie so many times I almost know it by heart. No wonder she won so many awards! Her cookbook is a must-have if you do a lot of plant-based cooking.

Side note, you will see below that I added a picture of my room that I recently renovated. I am extremely happy and proud with the finished product. One thing I have to note is chair rails was a thing of the past and shouldn’t be installed these days. If you do end up needing those decorative frames, just use nails. There’s no need for carpenter glue.

So here’s my take on what should be the best cheezecake you have ever tasted.

Choco-Raspberry love Cheezecake

Crust layer :

  • 1/4 cup of pitted dates , soaked in warm water for about 10 minutes and drained
  • 1 cup of gluten-free rolled oats
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons of Coconut oil, melted
  • about 6-8 cookies Gluten-free and vegan, I used chocolate peppermint cookies (Lucy’s) that I got for 50¢ from Bulk Barn because it was left from the holiday stock..

For the cheezecake layer :

  • 3/4 cup of raw cashews, soaked overnight and drained
  • 1/4 cup of macadamia nuts, soaked overnight and drained
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup Maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp of sea salt

 

  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries for the raspberry hearts

 

  • 1/4 cup of cocoa powder for the chocolate layer

  1. Preheat the oven at 350 ºF and grease a springform pan ( be careful when removing the pan from the freezer later on because I was impatient and broke it the hinge).
  2. In a food processor or high speed blender, combine all the oats, cookies and salt until crumbly. Add the coconut oil and dates and process until it is well combined. If it’s too thick add a little bit of water, if it’s not thick enough add more oats.. trial and error my friends!
  3. Press the mixture in the springform pan and bake for about 10-12 minutes or until slightly golden. let cool at least 20 minutes or place in freezer.

for the cheezecake

  1. Drain and rinse the cashews and macadamia nuts. Combine all ingredients except the raspberries and cocoa powder in a high-speed blender until smooth. If the consistency is too thick you may add a tbsp of dairy free milk.
  2. Seperate the vanilla mixture into two. Pour one of the halves over the cooled oat layer. Seperate the last half into two and blend the raspberries with one and the cocoa powder in the other.
  3. Spread the chocolate layer over half or do as you please and finish off by piping little hearts with the raspberry mixture.
  4. Allow to set in the freezer for at least 5-6 hours , preferably overnight and remove from freezer at least 10 minutes before serving.

Share your treats, and if you make this recipe please tell me about it! Go find my facebook page and share my recipes!

As always enjoy your lovely day, and here is a song I think you’ll absolutely adore Coloring by Kevin Garrett. Good vibes for the weekend !

Here’s my room !

alexaroom copyalexaroomdoneThank you for all your support,

~Lexa ♥

 

Leave a Reply

